european certification logo
iso certification services
Home > ISO Certification

ISO 14001 about the standard

ISO 14001:2015 what does it mean?
Well to give it its full title take a look below:

ISO = International Organisation for Standardisation,
14001 = The standard's number e.g 14001
2015 = date of publication and revision year e.g. 2015

So what is ISO 14001:2015 ?

ISO 14001:2015 is principally a world wide recognised set of rules which companies implement with the aim of managing environmental issues and aspects associated with their company to enable them to reduce their environmental footprint on society.

ISO 14001:2015 forms part of a family of ISO 14000 standards, documents and guidelines; there are a large number of these associated documents that have been created to inform and increase companies' understanding of the requirements to continually improve their business models and reduce pollution from their company.

In September 2015, the International Organisation for Standardisation introduced a revised set of Environmental Management Standards based on the ISO 14001:2004 standard. The new standard is based on a process model and new emphasis has been placed on Evaluation of Risk and the removal of the need for formal procedures but greater emphasis placed on documented information

Environmental Legal Compliance and harmonisation to other older established standards such as ISO 9001:2000. - ISO 14001:2015 is predominately based on 4 key documents:

1. ISO 9000:2015      Quality Management Systems - Fundamentals and Vocabulary (adapted for Environmental use)
2. ISO 14001:2015     Environmental Management Systems - requirements with guidance for use
3. ISO 19011:2011     Guidelines for Quality and Environmental Auditing

Where can I find these standards?
To purchase copies of the above standards please follow the links below:
1.    Your National Standards Body:
2.    From the International Organisation for Standardisation:
3.    Publication for Malaysian Standards:

Further information about ISO 14001 and related standards?
To find further information about ISO 9001 and related standards follow the links below:
1.    The United Kingdom Accreditation Service:
2.    Malaysia National Standards Body (Standards Malaysia):
3.    From the International Organisation for Standardisation:

ISO 9001: 2015 & ISO 14001: 2015 Upgrading Information
The ISO 14001: 2015 standard was published on September 2015.

Apply Now